Week 7: What Caught My Senses This Week

Image

SIGHT:

BOOKS: 

top-10-most-read-books-in-the-world_502917bd068fd (1)

* Destiny Allison- Book Launch Party Contest! http://shapingdestinythebook.com/2013/05/20/gearing-up-for-the-launch-party/

* Goodreads YA Newsletter: http://www.goodreads.com/newsletters/ya/may2013?utm_campaign=2013-05&utm_content=view_in_browser&utm_medium=email&utm_source=ya_newsletter

* Ranker- 13 Best Dystopian Novels http://www.ranker.com/list/the-13-best-dystopian-novels/ivana-wynn

* Little Red Reviewer- TBR Topple http://littleredreviewer.wordpress.com/2013/05/19/tbr-topple/#more-4383

* Andra Watkins- What are You Reading- Some Fabulous TBR suggestions http://andrawatkins.com/2013/05/20/what-are-you-reading/#comment-46007 * Amber Sky Forbes- Amber is looking for reviewers for her novel “When Stars Die” http://amberskyeforbes.wordpress.com/2013/05/19/my-book-needs-reviewers-arcs-included-2/

* Angie Skelhorn- “Severed Ties” Blog Tour http://witchskel.wordpress.com/2013/05/20/blog-tour-kickoff-giveaway-and-review-severed-ties/

* Chuck Wendig- Book Turn Offs – What Makes You Put a Book Down? http://terribleminds.com/ramble/2013/05/21/bookish-turn-offs/

* Sarah Cradit- Synopsis of “The Storm and the Darkness” http://sarahcradit.wordpress.com/2013/05/20/the-storm-and-the-darkness-synopsis

*Nathan Brandsford- The Last Few Weeks In Books- http://blog.nathanbransford.com/

MOVIES: 

* Love Your Movies- “Side Effects” review (I really enjoyed this movie staring Jude Law, Rooney Mara, Channing Tatum & Catherine Zeta-Jones) http://loveyourmovies.wordpress.com/2013/05/20/soderbergh-once-again-perfectly-preys-on-the-common-life-in-side-effects/

* Ky Grabowski- Posted 2 Powerful Anti-Bullying Videos- http://kygrabowski.wordpress.com/2013/05/22/love-is-all-you-need/comment-page-1/#comment-1016

& http://kygrabowski.wordpress.com/2013/05/22/to-this-day-project-shane-koyczan/

* “The East”  Movie Trailer- Starring one of my favorite actresses Brit Marling (“Another Earth,” “Arbitrage,” “Sound of My Voice”)  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MRX7w75wIFk

WRITING TIPS: 

* Writer’s Digest- 15 Things a Writer Should Never Do- I’m struggling with #12 right now, but in my defense, it’s raining out. http://www.writersdigest.com/editor-blogs/there-are-no-rules/15-things-a-writer-should-never-do?et_mid=618300&rid=233906187

* Amanda Hockings’s Blog- How to Give Yourself Writer’s Block http://amandahocking.blogspot.com/2013/05/how-to-give-yourself-writers-block.html?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+blogspot%2FZiTfpO+%28Amanda+Hocking%27s+Blog%29

PUBLISHING: 

* Amber Sky Forbes- The Madness of the Value of Books http://amberskyeforbes.wordpress.com/2013/05/19/the-madness-of-the-value-of-books/

* Chris McMullen- Is Amazon our Friend? http://chrismcmullen.wordpress.com/2013/05/19/is-amazon-our-friend/

* N W Harris- So You Want to be a Writer- Part One: The Long Road to Getting Published http://nwharrisbooks.wordpress.com/2013/05/21/so-you-want-to-be-a-writer-part-one-the-long-road-to-getting-published/

SUBMISSIONS:

* The Community Storyboard http://neverendingstorydepository.wordpress.com/submission-guidelines-submit-your-work/

* Rosie Amber- A Short Story Competition For You To Enter- http://rosieamber.wordpress.com/2013/05/21/a-short-story-competition-for-you-to-enter/  

EXTRAS:  

* Legends of Windemere- Trope Removal http://legendsofwindemere.com/2013/05/19/ask-and-be-answered-trope-removal/

* 7 Things You Thought You Knew About Introverts- # 4 is so me & I bet a lot of other bloggers can relate!!! http://www.huffingtonpost.com/irene-s-levine/how-to-make-friends_b_645827.html#s114179title=Were_Quiet_Not

* Chuck Wendig- The Undeserved Population of Writers http://terribleminds.com/ramble/2013/05/22/the-underserved-population-of-readers/

HILARIOUS:  

* Andra Watkins- Ode to the Hair Down There http://andrawatkins.com/2013/05/19/ode-to-the-hair-down-there/

* Ionia Martin- Someone Left a Little Review http://readfulthingsblog.com/2013/05/20/someone-left-a-little-review/ * You Know You’ve Been a Teacher Too Long http://www.buzzfeed.com/ashleyperez/31-signs-youve-been-a-teacher-too-long

ENCOURAGEMENT:   

Nick Vujicic pic 3

* Phillybookspicks posted the most inspirational video. Nick Vujicic has no arms and no legs and yet he remains thankful. “I realize I may not have hands to hold my wife’s hand but when the time comes I’ll be able to hold her heart. I don’t need hands to hold her heart.” http://phillybookpicks.wordpress.com/2013/05/18/poetry-pick-for-the-week-4/

* Share My Dabba – Thought changing video- please watch http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x2D4WaAvSH4 * Sara Solmonson- A Small Farewell to Zach Sobiech http://sarahsolmonson.com/2013/05/20/a-small-farewell-to-zach-sobiech/

* Thanks to John W. Howell who nominated me for the Wonderful Team Membership Award 🙂

* The Militant Baker- In Response to Abercrombie & Fitch http://www.themilitantbaker.com/2013/05/to-mike-jeffries-co-abercrombie-fitch.html?m=1

* Casa Mariposa- Beautiful Pictures of Flowers After the Rain http://ts-casamariposa.blogspot.com/2013/05/rainy-day-ramble.html?showComment=1369103774627#c3020643246140659949

SOUND: 

* Inside Creative Writing Weekly Podcast with Brad Reed – Unique spin on creative writing tips- def worth a listen! “I am in love with writing. Something about those 26 letters just amaze me.” http://www.insidecreativewriting.com/tag/brad-reed/

* Zach Sobiech- “Clouds” http://sarahsolmonson.com/2013/05/20/a-small-farewell-to-zach-sobiech/

* Gin Wigmore- “These Roses” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=00OYihgTnHE

* Butterfly Boucher- “Bitter Song” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b1WXhapRHmw

* Sara Bareilles- “Gravity” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A_U6iSAn_fY

* Evanescence- “Even in Death” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4dG0SgShZCc

*Melodime- Cover of Leonard Cohen’s “Hallelujah” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p1w1GHFW7-A

SMELL:

  * Mango Cooler Candle

TASTE:

* The Concordia Sandwich from the Black Bear Bistro & Cellar, Warrenton (Ground beef mixed with marinara and roast beef topped with provolone and stuffed in egg battered bread)

TOUCH: 

* On Sunday, my friend Sharon & I ran the Joe Cassella 5 K

Image

 

10 thoughts on “Week 7: What Caught My Senses This Week

Keep Calm and Comment On!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s