Mindi Scott- Live Through This

ImageMindi Scott’s Live Through This is: “Harrowing, sad, funny, and romantic. I couldn’t put it down.” –Stephanie Perkins, author of Anna and the French Kiss. I couldn’t say it better myself.

Fifteen-year-old Coley Sterling is petite, blonde, popular, and athletic. She’s what I consider a golden girl- a girl who seems to have everything- a girl that you’re jealous of and yet enamored by- a girl you secretly root for.

I’m a middle school counselor with a case load of over 500 students; therefore I talk to a lot of kids from various backgrounds. I often remind them that things aren’t always what they seem. That people who seem to have everything- don’t. Everyone has secrets- secrets that maybe only a handful of people know and some secrets that they won’t share with anyone.

Most of the time Coley masks her pain extraordinarily well, until she falls for a gentle, saxophone playing guy named Reece. She yearns for a normal emotional and physical relationship but someone close to her has made that goal impossible. Someone who’s been molesting Coley since she was seven.

Now Coley is having trouble containing her pain- like her pain is hidden beneath a pillow, and Coley is suffocating it, but it’s struggling, and exhausting Coley. And people are starting to notice.

“Is something wrong? You don’t seem like your self this morning.” says Reece. (The morning after it happened again).

“What’s that on your neck?” asks Ming.

“It’s from my curling iron. Slippery thing,” Coley replies. (He gave her a hickey that she had to disguise as a burn).

I’m going to live through this. Somehow. I’ll put it out of my mind. I’ll fool myself into believing it never happened, that it was a bad dream. Because, truly, how could it have happened? –Coley trying to convince herself.

Live Through This– another un-put-down-able novel! How am I ever going to become a successful writer with all of these new novels out there, tempting me to read them with their captivating covers and seductive storylines? 😉

Keep Calm and Comment On!

