Super Focused

Pom

 

On Sunday, I was having a Super Focused Writing Day. Unfortunately, super focus only happens to me once in a blue moon. It was rough tearing myself away from my desk to spend time with my friends; until I saw my friends of course. (We had dinner, drinks, and saw Bon Jovi in concert= very fun night).

I need more super focused days, but how can I make that happen? It’s ironic because I’m almost always super focused at work and yet when I get home, I tend to take naps, watch TV, waste time on the Internet, etc. instead of writing. Maybe I should start staying at work late and writing there. (But then again, I multi-task at work and that’s supposedly unproductive, ugh).

Regardless, it would be nice to be able to be super focused at home.

According to Peter Knoblaunch, there are seven ways to “get super focused when you need it.” He mentioned reading the book “The Power of Full Engagement: Managing Energy, Not Time, Is the Key to High Performance and Personal Renewal” by Jim Loehr and Tony Schwartz. He also mentioned using the “Pomodoro Technique,” which is a time management technique by using breaks. (Pomodoro means “tomato” in Italian, and the technique is named after the tomato kitchen timer). Evidently, breaks can improve mental agility.

The steps are:

1. Decide on a task to be done

2. Set the pomodoro (timer) to 25 minutes

3. Work on the task until the timer rings, record with an x

4. Take a short break (3-5 minutes)

5. Every four pomodori, take a longer break (15-30 minutes)

On Michael Hyatt’s website, there’s an article about the Pomodoro Technique, specifically “batching.” Batching is dedicating blocks of time to similar tasks in order to decrease distraction and increase productivity. It makes sense that: “working in a perpetual state of shifting tasks and refocusing attention creates fatigue, stress, and decreased productivity.” I am the queen of multi-tasking so I’m excited to give this technique a try and I’ll update my progress.

Check out the Pomodoro site for more info:

http://www.pomodorotechnique.com/

Keep Calm and Comment On!

