Reflection

ReflectionI tend to reminisce about the past- about how thin and in shape I was, about the guy I dated who looked like he stepped out of an Abercrombie & Fitch ad, about the college years I spent partying, about my youth…

And I often dream about the future-about the possibility of becoming a successful writer, living near the ocean, traveling to all 50 states, enjoying retirement…

Therefore, I have to remind myself to live in the present which let’s face it- isn’t always easy. For one, I owe $40,000 in student loans and my husband owes $30,000, I don’t like where I live, I don’t love my job…

Funny how I dwell less upon the dark times in my life- my parent’s divorce, not having a relationship with my biological father, growing up in a small town that I couldn’t wait to escape…

And I hardly ever think about the negative possibilities and inevitableness of the future-health issues, my grandparents dying, growing older…

Clearly I need to focus more on the here and now and the parts that I do appreciate- a steady income, road trips with my mom, (38 states visited) my dogs & cats, my amazing husband, family & friends, taking a walk outside today in 68 degree weather in January!, writing not because I have to but because I want to…

3 thoughts on “Reflection

  1. You are so right that it’s easy to get bogged down in the past and the negativity of the present. I go through this all the time, and I especially hear you on the student loan issue! I maintain something I call “The Grateful List” (http://www.tenaciouspoodle.com/2008/01/grateful-list.html) that sometimes helps. It also helps me to remind myself that I’ve got NOTHING to complain about compared to 3/4 of the rest of the world. Getting stuck in your own head is one of the worst things we can do for ourselves and for others.

  2. 😉 I wear a “Balance” bracelet as a reminder- it’s like the past is on one tray, the future on the other, and the present desperately trying to balance it all out!

Keep Calm and Comment On!

